RSS

Ten Plus One Questions with Author Julianne Snow

03 Feb

Julianne SnowNormally I try to give you a bit of information on the author before letting you dig into the questions and those answers. The great thing about Julianne she did some of my work for me by providing some great information about herself. So let’s begin.

Julianne Snow is the author of the Days with the Undead series and Glimpses of the Undead. She is the founder of Zombieholics Anonymous and the Co-Founder and Publicist at Sirens Call Publications. Writing in the realms of speculative fiction, Julianne has roots that go deep into horror and is a member of the Horror Writers Association. With pieces of short fiction in various publications, Julianne always has a few surprises up her sleeves. Be sure to check out The Carnival 13, a collaborative round-robin novella for charity which she contributed to and helped to spearhead which was released in October 2013.

Now onto those wonderful questions and Julianne’s answers. At the bottom of this post you will find a list of how and where to find her online.

Question 1: What inspired you to write Glimpses of the Undead?

Glimpses of the Undead is a collection of short stories that I had either had rights reverted back to me or that I wrote specifically with a collection in mind. Essentially, I wanted to present a view into my mind and give readers a taste of the different incarnations of the undead I had rolling around. Stories range from very short to longer in length and feature horror, humour, and even a little erotica…

Question 2: Is there any significance to the name names of your main characters?

Honestly, not really. When I’m writing, sometimes a name will come to me and I’ll use it. Other times, I’ll change the name when the story is completed. Very rarely does the character’s name take a more important role than what the character does.

Question 3: During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your memories?

One of the stories is set very close to home so I did draw on my memory of the location to ensure that if you were to visit my high school, you’d find yourself immersed in the location and the story as it unfolds.

Question 4: What were some of your favorite books growing up?

I absolutely devoured pretty much anything put in front of me as I was growing up, but my favourites included the works of L. Frank Baum who made the world of Oz possible, the works of Marion Zimmer Bradley, as well as works by Poe, Christopher Pike, and Lovecraft.

Question 5: Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say?

I’ve heard from many of my fans who enjoy my short spurts of the undead. Though admittedly, many of them want to know if the individual stories will be developed into something longer at some point. The answer to this is—you never know!

Question 6: What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book?

Excitement at the realization of a dream!

Question 7: Do you continue to write?

I write all the time 🙂

Question 8: What is the message you are want people to take away from the book?

There’s no real message I want people to get from reading my short fiction—I just want people to enjoy themselves.

Question 9: If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be?

Well, I’d have to say that I’d like them to live… My characters tend to become like family to me.

Question 10: Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you?

There is no dedication 🙂

The + 1 Question: If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why?

I’d love to go to the UK and promote my work – I think that would be fantastically awesome!

 

Social Media Links:

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2015 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
