RSS

Ten Plus One Questions with author Elliott Baker

20 Oct

elliott-baker-printAuthor Elliott Baker is the man behind the book, The Sun God’s Heir.  As people will find when reading his website he was a bit clumsy growing up. Why do I write that? In his about me section he mentions how after high school he went on to “bump” into many things.  In fact people will read how this man has led many careers before landing on the one that makes him happy. This love was the joy of creating things from musicals to writing a book. So without further comment please enjoy his answers to the questions.  Also, if you want to find more information at the end of the questions are multiple links to find the man on places like Facebook and where to find his book.

Question 1:

What inspired you to write The Sun Gods Heir?

I had had the first part of Rene’s story as a quasi dream/memory for years. It just took NANOWRIMO to push it to critical mass. Critical mass being the point where anything acquires a life of its own. The fact that The Sun God’s Heir touches on aspects of life that are meaningful to me is just one of the perks of writing.

Question 2:

Is there any significance to the name names of your main characters?

Names are powerful. It’s hard for me to explain, but I would go down lists of names listening for the character to say, “Yep, that’s my name.” Even so, I’ve had to change a name or two when some kind of conflict arose, so my hearing isn’t 20/20.

Question 3:

During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your memories?

As a hypnotist with a first and second hand experience of reincarnation memories, I definitely found a familiarity about certain scenes. Not as a lead character, but rather as “I’ve been in this marketplace before.” I’ve no need to argue for reincarnation as a fact. I don’t know. Still, if something is a useful tool in the prosecution of life, I think it should be used. My take is that the scenes that are the most vivid to me are the ones I write best and hopefully some of which ignite familiarity or memory in others.

Question 4:

What were some of your favorite books growing up?

All of Robert Heinlein’s books, Ursula LeGuinn, John Nelson’s Starborn, Alexei Panshin’s Rite of Passage, and Madeline L’engle’s A Wrinkle In Time. I have to stop this now, or I’ll still be here this time tomorrow listing authors and stories that ignited my imagination. As you can probably tell, I am grateful to these folks. What are we if not a heroic story.

Question 5:

Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say?

Not sure I have any fans yet, but the comments and reviews have been great. The best comments have been about their impatience to read the sequel which, by the way, is completed. Nothing makes a writer feel better than that.

Question 6:

What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book?

I’ll let you know when the printed version comes out in November.

Question 7:

Do you continue to write?

Routine is the mainstay of art, any art. I do my best to write every day. I don’t always succeed. The joy of writing a story is very close to the joy of reading one. I have an idea of where I’d like the story to go, but it is often as surprising and fun for me as for the reader. We’re both reading the story for the first time.

Question 8:

What is the message you want people to take away from the book?

Having more power is not the answer. Enslaving someone else does not make you safer. The only way to get across the finish line is arm in arm.

Question 9:

If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be?

Hah, almost got me there. I am envisioning a future for Rene. Read the sequel. I think you’ll enjoy it. Like life for all of us, it has moments of victory as well as those of loss, of doubt and frustration. And like all of us, he will face his demons and grow stronger with experience.

Question 10:

Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you?

My wife Sally Ann is probably the reason we are having this conversation. Her unwavering support for my artistic endeavors has resulted in this book. How important is air?

I don’t believe in coincidence so everyone who comes into my life has something to teach me or remind me. By reading aloud to our sixth grade class, Mrs. Lillian Walker introduced me to the joy of the story as well as great frustration when class time ran out and she couldn’t read the next installment. Patience then was not my strongest suit. Now that I think of it, probably not so much now either. I went to the library, found the book, and ate all the rest of Walter Farley’s books. Sitting here, I look over at my wall of books and I am so grateful to that lady.

 

The + 1 Question:

If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why?

I like meeting and talking to people, and will be happy to go anywhere someone wants to further explore my book. As long as we’re pushing imagination here, I think it would be interesting to give a book tour in a country where the book has been translated into another language.

 

Elliot has a few ways people can find out about him and his book.  Check out one if not all the links below.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 20, 2014 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
