RSS

Ten Plus One Questions with Author Kate O’Connor

21 Aug

Kate Profile PicAuthor Kate O’Connor is the woman behind Mermaid. She not only writes been one checks her bio on her webpage you see she has other interests. She flies planes, digs up artificats and manages a kennel full of Airedales.  Sure sounds like an adventourous life and yet she has the time to write a book such as Mermaid that opens up the mind to a new ideas. So without futher comment here are the answers to the Ten Plus One Questions.

Find Kate:

Twitter: @kateoconnor03

Her Publisher Musa Pubishing.

 

Question 1: What inspired you to write Mermaid?

I love old folk- and fairy- tales. This story started with Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Little Mermaid” which has always been one of my favorites. I wanted to put a futuristic spin on it to see how the old fairytale structures stood up to the test of time.

Question 2: Is there any significance to the name/names of your main characters?

The four primary characters each have a surname related to the element I felt suited them most. Nerine – water, Lur – earth, Azar – fire, Esen – air. The accidentally funny bit is that adding an extra ‘s’ to Rob’s last name gets you “essen” which is German for “eat.” In spite of being entirely unplanned on my part, it works out ridiculously for the heir to a food company.

Question 3: During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your own memories?

I’m not sure how to say this without sounding silly, but I don’t actually think much beyond the technical aspects of getting words coherently on the page when I’m writing. With a story like “Mermaid” where the basic structure comes from a fairy tale, rather than being something I have to plan out, this is particularly true. On the other hand, this approach makes it fun to read back over a story when I’m done and pick apart which pieces might have come from where in my subconscious.

Question 4: What were some of your favorite books growing up?

C.S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia, Orson Scott Card’s Enders Game, Arthur C. Clarke’s Rendezvous with Rama.

Question 5: Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say?

Nope, I don’t. Which is not to say I wouldn’t like to.

Question 6: What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book?

There isn’t a print version for this one. However, getting the finished ebook copy was very satisfying. I usually write short stories, so having a finished, published longer work was quite exciting.

Question 7: Do you continue to write?

Always and forever.

Question 8: What is the message you want people to take away from the book?

I don’t write with a message in mind. I’ve always felt that once a story leaves the writer’s hands, it is up to the reader to attach their own personal meaning to it. I hope people take something away from the story, of course, but I don’t have much attachment to what they find there.

Question 9: If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be?

Hmm. I going to have to stick to imagining a future for Rob and Kiera. I imagine them taking control of their lives and fighting to make the company and the world a better place for drones and humans alike. Kiera especially is strong enough and smart enough to do just about anything she sets her mind to. I think Rob will spend a long time looking for Cora, even though he tries not to.

Question 10: Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you? 

“Mermaid” is dedicated to my little sister. Beyond being a wonderful sister, she is also my first reader/primary editor. She has a gift for finding the weak places in my world logic and character arcs. She is blessedly blunt when I am making a mess, so I know that when she tells me a story is good, it really is. She buys me coffee and chocolate when I’m feeling like I’ll never be able to write a decent story again. Without her, this book, and most of the rest of my writing, would not be possible.

The +1 Question: If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why?

Ireland. I haven’t been in a while and it would be a lot of fun to catch up with friends and show off what I’ve been working on. There’s also this little pub I need to go find again…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 21, 2014 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
