RSS

Reading + Writing + Multiple Sclerosis = Frustration

17 Jul

WritingI don’t complain much on the blog when I write about my Multiple Sclerosis. I try to keep things positive and this is one of those times were I may lash out a bit. I’m going to be up front and honest about some emotion and although it’s not to terrible it’s more frustration than anything else. The frustration is due to a feeling of being neglectful of myself imposed duties to the blog I write.

By now you are either still wondering what am I writing about, or lost interest and waiting for the next post. Either way here we go folks so let me get to the true reason for the post and the subject.

I’m writing this blog post with my MS word zoomed in two hundred percent to give my eyes a break. My arms are a bit sore and my hands ache a tad as I type. Up to this point I have had to stop at least two times to close my eyes and reopen to focus and shake my hands and arms out. I’ve had to change my sitting position at least four times and hopefully by the end this will be the last time.

What is causing this discomfort and problems? It’s simple it’s the side effects of my Multiple Sclerosis. It can mess with SO much of the body and for me it’s been pretty light. However as temperatures cool and then rise, then repeat it hits my physically and sometimes emotionally. You add in the full moon that has come and gone and it’s worse than the world’s longest roller coaster.

My eyes have gotten blurry a few times, my arms ache and there is not much I can do with it. I try to save the energy for the fourty hour work week which makes blogging a bit difficult. This is where the frustration comes in as I try and get a new book out to all of you at least one time a month. It’s due to these factors I have been a bit off as of late in getting new product out to you.

Thus I finally had to blow my screen up and write this explanation and most importantly let people know I am not done, I have not gone away, but just a small break. I have some vacation from work and plan on using the time to relax and get back to form and back into my normal blog patterns.

In the between time let me share with you what I have waiting for my attention, and get the word started on these books.

First up I have Doug Lamoreux’s book, which he co-wrote with one Daniel Lamoreux (his brother), titled Apparition Lake. The book has been rewritten by the brothers and is going to be made available by Creativia Publishing. The book is a reimaging of what Doug called, “mistakes of youth”, and should be a great read. Doug’s other books can be found online and of course on Amazon.

I will follow that book up with one from Author Kate O’Connor titled, Mermaid. This book was released on March 21, 2013. The book is through Musa Publishing and a description of the book is posted below for anyone who may want to read it before I do.

WMERMAIDhen genetically engineered sea drone Coral saved two drowning humans, she didn’t expect to end up questioning the foundations of her world… but humans don’t seem as different as she’s always been told. With nothing ahead of her but mindless days of harvesting seaweed for World Food Co., she has to know why humans are free to choose and drones aren’t.

Coral’s only hope of transforming her future lies in taking on a battle her people gave up a century ago. However, each step nearer to drone freedom brings her closer to falling in love with Rob, the man she saved and heir to the company she is fighting to change.

Struggling to unravel politics and passion, Coral begins to realize that she stands to lose more than just a chance at being human. Both her life and Rob’s may just balance on whether or not they can create a world where drones can be free.

 

The last of the trifecta I have on my to-read list is the book, The Dragon and The Needle, by author Hugh Franks. This book came to me all the way from England, and borrowing the English vanacular, through the post. This is one of those times I received the paper edition of the book and thrilled that arrived. I have shared a book description below and this book is from the Book Guild Publishing.

DragonA mysterious syndrome is striking down political leaders across the Western world. Named Extraordinary Natural Death Syndrome, or ENDS, it has baffled medical experts. The Western prejudice against the mysteries of Oriental medicine, and the growing acceptance of acupuncture as an effective method of treatment, are just two of the contrasting approaches explored in the story.

A brilliant young British doctor, Mike, and a glamorous Chinese acupuncturist, Eleanor, become involved in finding the cause of ENDS. They think they are on the right track, but the implications are shocking. Could this be an audacious ideological plan for world domination? And how does Eleanor’s dead husband Chen fit in? When the secrets of The Dragon and the Needle are revealed, where will Eleanor’s loyalties ultimately lie?

 

You can see I have some books to read and do not plan on stopping for any long period of time. I just have to take this short break to let some pain go away and see 20/20 again. Good thing this eye issue doesn’t happen when driving and for those saying, Get your eyes checked, I did they are fine.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 17, 2014 in Multiple Sclerosis, Personal

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Reading + Writing + Multiple Sclerosis = Frustration

  1. Doug Lamoreux

    July 18, 2014 at 10:54 AM

    One day at a time, Shawn, each of us according to our gifts. You’re in my thoughts!

     

Leave a Reply

 
