RSS

Independence Day, Multiple Sclerosis and a $10 dollar donation??

05 Jul

PostWhat does Independence Day have to do with MS? It’s probably one of the first questions that came to mind when the title to this blog post was seen. I know I asked myself that question when I started forming the idea for this piece. As for the Ten Dollar donation part, well you have to read to the end to understand, or just skip down.

Independence Day is a day that people around the United States celebrate with fireworks, parties, parades, barbecues, fairs, picnics and so many other activities. The day is to commemorate the day thirteen colonies rose up, and declared their independence from British rule.

It’s a day that many have free of work, it’s a National Holiday and the celebrations can be seen all over the news. The fact is it’s a day that people forget a lot of their troubles and just celebrate with friends, neighbors, and family.

You see it’s a great reason to celebrate.

There are those of us with Multiple Sclerosis, and in fact any disease, are looking for our “Independence Day”. The day that we can finally celebrate a cure being found that will help us.

I am fortunate for the over 6 + years I’ve had MS I been able to carry on a mostly normal life. I get to do many of the things I enjoyed prior to my diagnosis. I can still mow the lawn, take a weed whacker around and shovel snow. There are days that I feel like crap but those are far and in-between what I consider my normal days.

There are others who are unable to do simple things such as go to the bathroom, take a walk, or even work. There are those who loved ones do not understand the disease and will even turn on those with the diagnosis. I have heard of families that will turn their back on their family members after they get an MS diagnosis as it is seen as a weakness.

Either way the one thing that so many try to do is find a reason to stay positive. So, is it wrong to want to find a day that we can celebrate a cure?

I realize from the way the World MS Day was covered in the United States it’s not the “disease” that gets all the press. We will occasionally see it show up, but when prime networks would rather celebrate an anchors birthday of mentioning MS Day. Well yeah.

I however keep going day by day being positive. I will NOT let MS dictate my life. It may make me stop and take a time out when I get tired, but I will finish what I started. My arms may tingle at times and give me the feeling I bit into a Peppermint Patty but hey I like them so cool.

I had planned to end this post in a different way, but then I got an email that just made my day.

Part of the content of that email is below and I know I may actually put myself out there and submit a video. If you know others with MS encourage them to take the time and do the same thing. What’s a minute of your time worth? In this instance a Ten Dollar donation to the MS society for just being yourself.

So here it is a chance for those with MS to help make a difference.

Healthline just launched a video campaign for MS called “You’ve Got This” where individuals living with MS can record a short video to give hope and inspiration those recently diagnosed with MS.

You can visit the homepage and check out videos from the campaign here: http://www.healthline.com/health/multiple-sclerosis/youve-got-this

We will be donating $10 for every submitted campaign to the National MS Society, so the more exposure the campaign gets the more the videos we’ll receive and the more Healthline can donate to MS research, support groups, treatment programs, and more.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 5, 2014 in Multiple Sclerosis, Personal

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
