RSS

Ten Plus One Questions with Author Angie Gallow

29 Jun

TheCovenAuthor Angie Gallow is the author of The Coven and her book is brought to the world by her pubisher Siren’s Call Publications.  What exactly am I talking about? Well here’s her Biography from her Facebook Page: 

Biography

The author known as Angie Gallow enjoys all things weird and creepy. A great lover of books and words, words, words as Hamlet would so eloquently put it. Even though this is the first novel published, the author has been writing for years, honing her craft through the fine professors at Columbia College in Chicago.

 

 

Question 1: What inspired you to write The Coven?

Inspiration for The Coven came from the old vampire lore, when people were superstitious of people rising from the dead. It came from superstitious stories of clergyman and hunters tracking down the undead and roaming through cemeteries, looking for just-risen vampires. I wanted to infuse that back into the vampire’s world, to make them deal with it again, and make them battle with the notion that their own kind can be the cause of their downfall.

Question 2: Is there any significance to the name names of your main characters?

I just wanted the characters to be memorable. Otherwise, there is no huge meaning or significance to their names at all.

Question 3: During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your memories?

No. This story is completely fabricated of my own imagination with the help of myths and lore. My memories aren’t involved 🙂

Question 4: What were some of your favorite books growing up?

I grew up reading a lot of Roald Dahl. I remember The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett being my favorite book growing up. I read a lot of dark stories; I was a horror lover from an early age.

Question 5: Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say?

I haven’t from them yet but I hope they don’t stay quiet for long.

Question 6: What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book?

Like a dream was coming true. After sending so much time writing and rewriting a novel that you, at one point, don’t believe will ever get read, it’s amazing. I was quite proud of myself.

Question 7: Do you continue to write?

All the time. It’s in my blood and I don’t think I’ll ever stop writing.

Question 8: What is the message you are want people to take away from the book?

I guess the overall message is, ‘just because you don’t like it, don’t ruin it for everyone else’. We see that in the juxtaposition of the characters Sebastien and Harold. Sebastien, at one point, draws the connection between werewolves and vampires, saying that werewolves can start over and rebuild their clans but vampires can’t. Sebastien just wants to live out his existence peacefully, whereas Harold hates himself, claiming that no one should be allowed to live on forever. He hates being a vampire so much that he will aid the enemy to rid the world on his own kind.

Question 9: If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be?

I’ve played with that in my head for a while now. I originally had it where the Diocese Club regroups and finds out that it was Sebastien who foiled their plans and comes after him. I thought about having his human companion grow up a bit and get pulled into the fray; maybe have Sebastien find love… but it’s only play in my mind right now.

Question 10: Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you?

I haven’t made any dedications in the book but if I had to I would have dedicated it to my parents. They’re the reason I’m here and if anyone deserves to share the spotlight, they do.

The + 1 Question:

If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why?

France. Vampires seem to just gravitate to France because the romantic aspect that France carries; vampires just seem to fit in France, for some reason, even though that’s not where they’re stories originated from. We always see vampires in France.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 29, 2014 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
