RSS

Ten Plus One Questions with Author Monica Pierce

12 Jun

Monica PierceMonica Pierce is the author behind the book Famine Book one of The Apocalytics. She is a self published author who calls the eclectic city of Seatle, Washington, her home. Her personal web page will tell you a bit about her including things like how she has two rock ’em” sockem cat bots. Those are her words, not mine. It just shows the woman has some humor, showed through in Famine.  Her personal website even has some nice photos that reprsent the characters of the book which you can check out here. So, without more fan fare and blabber, text from me, here are her answers to the Ten Plus One Questions.

Question 1:

What inspired you to write Famine?

Ha! That’s a long story, so I’ll give you the Cliff Notes version. I wanted to create something that was paranormal, but didn’t include the usual suspects (ie. vampires, werewolves, angels/demons, etc.). Famine grew out of a much earlier concept that was vampire-based, but I couldn’t make the story work; it just wasn’t unique enough for me. So after a little research and “what if-ing” I hit upon the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, and everything just clicked into place.

Question 2:

Is there any significance to the name names of your main characters?

Besides finding a name that “fit” my main character (I knew it when I heard it), I needed one that could span a 1,500-year period. He is addressed as either Bartholomew or Bartholomeus, and having the Latin version allows me to quickly indicate the kind of relationship he has with various characters.

Question 3:

During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your memories?

Specific memories, no, but the relationship between Bartholomew and Matilde as she grows up was influenced by the relationship I had with my own father. He wasn’t always easy on me, but he was always fair and honest. He wanted me to be strong and independent, and I’m grateful that he didn’t let me slide.

Question 4:

What were some of your favorite books growing up?

As a teen: Watership Down (I still have my tattered original copy), Jane Eyre, the Dragonriders of Pern series (my brothers and I traded these); pre-teen: Judy Blume’s books, the Ramona books, fairytales (my mother a beautifully illustrated book of Grimm’s Fairytales)

Question 5:

Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say?

I’m so gratified by the generous feedback I’ve been getting! Readers love Bartholomew, though he’s a true anti-hero. They appreciate that his decisions are based upon his love for the people around him and his determination to stop the Four Horsemen. Readers also admire Matilde’s strength (and the fact that she’s not whiny or spoiled. LOL!), they’ve been talking about the richness of my world-building, and they appreciate the relationships between all of the characters. The slow unfolding of Bartholomew’s history and the growth of his relationship with Matilde as he raises her from child- to adulthood. Really, I’ve had such wonderful responses. 😀

Question 6:

What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book?

Delight and satisfaction in a design well-executed. I’m self-published, so I worked with a photographer, models, and a cover designer, and I did the inside layout myself. Seeing the design all come together to create a visual experience for readers is always incredibly satisfying.


Question 7:

Do you continue to write?

Absolutely and every day. I’m working on a sequel to Girl Under Glass (my first novel), as well as plotting Death, the second book in the Apocalyptics series.

Question 8:

What is the message you are want people to take away from the book?

To never give up and to love yourself. Those themes come up a lot in my work.

Question 9:

If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be?

I’d let Bartholomew retire to a nice little house on a large piece of property outside of Seattle. He’d have a view of Puget Sound and the mountains, horses to ride, and a large garden to tend. And he’d be happiest when Matilde came to visit.

Question 10:
Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you?

The book is dedicated to my father, whose huge heart is buried beneath a gruff exterior. I put a great deal of my dad into Bartholomew, and this book is about tough fathers and their strong daughters.

The + 1 Question:

If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why?

With unlimited funds, I’m assuming. I’d find a big old castle on the Rhine and fly in all my readers to talk and laugh, take long walks and eat too many pastries.

Find more about Monica, and her books through the below links.

Monica Enderle Pierce, author
Famine is now available for KindleNookKobo, and in print
Girl Under Glass is now available for Kindle and Nook
Visit my website: monicaenderlepierce.com
Follow me on FacebookTwitterGoodreads, and Pinterest
 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 12, 2014 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Ten Plus One Questions with Author Monica Pierce

  1. Monica Enderle Pierce

    June 12, 2014 at 11:52 PM

    Thanks, Shawn! I really appreciate the chance to share a bit about my writing with your followers. 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
