RSS

Ten Plus One Questions with Author VR McCoy

03 Jun

snoopyAuthor VR McCoy is an author of not just Shaman a but he has written Crime Thriilers, Action-Adventure, and of course Paranormal. As you read his answers you will find out some great facts about him and his writing style. If you are interested in finding about this Washington D.C native, now resident of Atlanta, Georgia, here are some places to look. Some may wonder about the image I used for this post, and just want to say it’s the one from VR McCoy’s own website.   His image can be found at one of the below publisher websites.

 

VR McCoy’s Website

Publisher Creativia Publishing Author Page

J. Ellington Ashton Press Author Page

 

Now the Questions

Question 1: What inspired you to write Shaman – The Awakening?

I was inspired to write “Shaman-The Awakening” while I was researching my maternal ancestry in North Carolina.

Question 2: Is there any significance to the name names of your main characters?

There is definitely a significance to the character names. Most of the characters names are based upon actual acquaintances of mine and the protagonist’s name has a subliminal message that will be revealed during the series.  As the readers get to know Christian more they will realize the symbolic nature of his name and enjoy the enlightenment.  I would hate to currently spoil the surprise.

Question 3: During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your memories?

 Absolutely! In most of my novels and manuscripts a part of me is hidden within the characters.  This novel in particular because as I have stated I have personal ties.

Question 4: What were some of your favorite books growing up?

The “Odessy,” “To Kill a Mockingbird,” Most of James Baldwin, Langston Hughes, Edgar Allen Poe and Shakespeare works. I also enjoyed Emily Dickerson, Thorough, Charles Dickens and of course Dr. Seuss.

Question 5: Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say?

The responses have been overwhelming.  5 of my six reviews have been 5 Stars. The readers are urging me to release the second book of the series.

Question 6: What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book?

 It was a feeling of accomplishment. To actually be a published author with a contract and to see my work accepted by readers was a dream come true. I felt very blessed.

Question 7: Do you continue to write?

I’m always writing. Even while marketing the current novel I will jot down passages for another manuscript or for the Shaman series.

Question 8: What is the message do you want people to take away from the book?

 Tolerance and acceptance of others; races, religions and cultures. The protagonist is divided between questions of culture, race and religions during his journey and attempts to resolve some of these issues pertaining to himself.

Question 9: If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be?

Shaman-The Awakening is only the first novel of the “Shaman” series, therefore I already have a vision of his future. Christian is on a Vision Quest in which he will discover more about himself; his abilities and his heritage as he continues to track down unorthodox serial killers.

Question 10: Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you?

Of course my mother and sister are mentioned. My mother has always been my rock and my sister has always been there for me. She’s seen the good and bad. Several of the characters are based upon very close friends and acquaintances. People who I cherish.

The + 1 Question: If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why?

My tour would begin in Cherokee County, N.C. then pass through the tribes of the Southwestern States, Arizona, New Mexico and Colorado then I would visit Greece where most of our modern literature was born.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 3, 2014 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
