RSS

Ten + 1 Questions with Author Christian A Larsen

23 Nov

ChristianChristian A Larsen is the author of the book Loosing Touch.  When you visit his blog you will find the below image on his about me page. In the details shared there it is found he has been an English Teacher, radio personality, newspaper reporter, and a printer’s devil.  I for one do not know what a printer’s devil is but does have a “wicked” sounding name. 🙂  As one who has radio in  his background I know it’s time to wrap things up and get onto the questions. So after a short commercial here are those questions.

 

Commercial:

To further connect with the author behind the book Loosing Touch, you can find him on Twitter: @Exlibrislarsen Facebook: www.facebook.com/exlibrislarsen

Now the questions.

 

Question 1: What inspired you to write Losing Touch?

When I was in junior high, my science teacher told us that if we lined up our molecules just right, we could walk through walls. It would be pretty tempting to use that ability to “make things right” in your life if things were wrong, wouldn’t it? But there are always unexpected consequences.

Question 2: Is there any significance to the names of your main characters?

Not really. There are “inside” connections between several of the characters and people in my life, but there’s no poetic meaning.

Question 3: During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your memories?

There’s so much of me in LOSING TOUCH, that’s pretty much all I did. Certainly, many of the things that happen to Morgan didn’t happen to me, but all the window dressing, the periphery–those are things I lived through.

Question 4: What were some of your favorite books growing up?

THE LORD OF THE RINGS (J.R.R. Tolkien), THE STAND (Stephen King), FAHRENHEIT 451 (Ray Bradbury), THE RED PONY (John Steinbeck), TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD (Harper Lee), THE MYSTERY OF CHIMNEY ROCK (Edward Packard)

Question 5: Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say?

Mostly positive things, but enough constructive criticism to keep me honest. Nothing is perfect, after all.

Question 6: What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book? 

Absolute elation. I wanted to be a writer ever since I finished reading THE HOBBIT when I was 10, so almost 30 years later, to be paid to have my book printed and bound–well, let’s just say it was a helluva day when the box arrived at my doorstep.

Question 7: Do you continue to write?

You bet. Not enough, but yes I do.

Question 8: What is the message you want people to take away from the book?

I mostly just want them to enjoy it. Messages, like beauty, are in the eye of the beholder.

Question 9: If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be?

You’ll have to find out if he even survives the end of the book.

 Question 10: Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you?

I dedicated the book to my wife, Maureen, who has been super supportive. She let me quit my job to devote myself to writing, and that’s the biggest vote of confidence anyone can ever get.

The + 1 Question:  If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why?

I dunno. Where the readers are.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 23, 2013 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Ten + 1 Questions with Author Christian A Larsen

  1. Christian

    November 23, 2013 at 6:15 PM

    Reblogged this on exlibrislarsen and commented:
    Shawn Micallef of KNIGHTMIST asked me Ten + 1 Questions. I feel like his questions were more intelligent than my answers, but you be the judge…

     

Leave a Reply

 
