RSS

Ten +1 Questions with Author Kaitlin Bevis

18 Nov

KaitlinKaitlin Bevis is the author behind the book Persephone (Daughters of Zeus). She has written a few books and a short story which fans can find referenced on her website.  Kaitlin has a blog and those who look at her About Me section will find she writes for other blogs as well.  So without further comment I hope you enjoy her answers to those questions.

 

Question 1: What inspired you to write Persephone?

Actually, it was watching the Clash of the Titans trailer. Something about the music, and yelling, and the damn the gods quote just got me thinking about the gods, and who was more damned than Persephone? Then I wondered if there was more to that story, and one thought led to another.

I’m very interested in where everything comes from. We tell the same stories over and over again. Persephone, phantom of the opera, beauty and the beast. There’s something about the Greek myths, Persephone’s in particular, that pull at us, inspire us to rewrite it. Maybe because it feels incomplete. Everyone wants to finish it. To put their own spin on it. I caught the bug and it still hasn’t let go of me.

Question 2: Is there any significance to the name/names of your main characters? 

All of them. Every single character, except Jessica, Ashley, Rachel, and Gloria, were pulled straight from mythology. Even Melissa is a title given to priestesses of Demeter. As far as the whole Kora/Persephone thing, in the myth, Persephone wasn’t known as Persephone until her time in the Underworld. Before that the myth referred to her as Kora, literally maiden or girl in Greek.

Question 3: During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your own memories? 

Somewhat. They say write what you know, and there are aspects of Persephone’s character that come from my life and my experience, but gradually, through rewrites, the part of her that’s me fades away to become her.

Question 4: What were some of your favorite books growing up? 

Anything by L.J Smith, in all seriousness, I was obsessed with her. Other than that, I read a lot of fantasy, but nothing really sticks out in memory like L.J Smith’s Nightworld

 

Question 5: Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say?

Mostly they talk about how much they love Hades. I apparently did something right there.

 

Question 6: What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book?  

Hasn’t happened yet. Persephone is only available as an ebook. But I’m really looking forward to it.

 

Question 7: Do you continue to write? 

Of course. I love writing. There should be more news about my fourth book anytime now.

Question 8: What is the message you want people to take away from the book? 

I just hope that people enjoy reading it. I don’t have an agenda and I’m not trying to pass on any pearls of wisdom, I just like good stories. I did a ton of research so if you’re familiar with the myths there’s all kinds of fun references in there, but I’m not trying to teach anyone anything. I just want people to have fun reading my book.

 

Question 9: If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be?

Ah,my series is ongoing, so I’ll pass on that question in the name of spoilers.
Question 10: Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you?   

My mom, my daughter, my husband, and my writer’s group. Their importance to me is far to vast to adequately answer, even if I wrote an entire book about it. I can never thank those people enough for what they’ve brought to my life.

The + 1 Question:

If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why? 

New Zealand. Because it looks amazing and I *really* want to go there, any reason will do. 🙂 Being on a book tour would only make it better.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 18, 2013 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
