RSS

Ten Questions + 1 with Author T Bison

24 Aug

T Bison is the man behind the book, The Eradication. Below are the answers to the now famous, or is it “infamous” Ten Questions +1.

TbisonWhat inspired you to write The Eradication?

Insufficient brain capacity.  I had the storyline in my head, but I was just entertaining myself with it.  But once I started filling in the details, I got confused.  So, I wrote everything down.  Before I knew it, I had a book.

Is there any significance to the name/names of your main characters?

The only thing I tried to do was represent as many ethnicities as possible.  I have friends (acquaintances, actually) from all walks of life.   However, I will let you in on an inside joke to one of the names.  A friend of mine (Joe Van Harken) took too long to return my phone call one day (I’m sure it was an extremely important call).  In the book, I introduced him as a character in one sentence, and then I killed him off in the next sentence.  Don’t cross me, Joe.

During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your own memories?

Yes, quite a bit.  I think that’s a very important part of the process…for anyone.

 What were some of your favorite books growing up?

I was a late bloomer, as far as reading goes.  I didn’t start reading until my mid-twenties.  I would read all things serial killer/true-crime.  I still do. 

Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say?

They all seem to think the book is written very well.  They like my ‘style’, but I don’t know what that means.  They’re shocked by the ending.

What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book?  

I’m not the type of person that gets excited over trivial things, but I was proud and surprised.  If someone would have told me a year ago that I would have a book for sale, I would have planned that person’s intervention.

Do you continue to write?

I will.  Like The Eradication, I have to have the story in my head before I start writing.  I’m not the ‘creative writing’ type.  But I am plotting a new story in my head.

What is the message you want people to take away from the book?

I don’t think I want the actual story to relay a message, other than possibly forming your own idea of personal justice (everyone has a different opinion).  What I would rather people get from this, is that if you use your imagination and have fun with whatever goofy hobby you have, you can accomplish an unforeseen goal.

If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be?

A positive legacy.

Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you?

Well, I have no dedication, but I do have an acknowledgment section.  I thanked the people that read my original scrap heaps of ideas.  Their critiques helped shape the final product.  I also thanked a group of lifelong friends that encouraged me to start writing my dumb jokes down.  That little nudge into the writing world eventually lead to this book.  All of them are very important to me.  The most important.

If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why?

If you knew me, you would be asking that question with a sarcastic tone.  I’m not the type to travel around, speaking aloud and giving autographs.  I live in the middle of the woods for a reason.  As far as traveling for the sake of traveling, I’ll go anywhere, as long as they have booze.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 24, 2013 in Interview

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
