RSS

Ten Questions + 1 featuring author SB Knight

19 Jun

I have reviewed a few books from Author SB Knight and just recently a short story.  Below you will find the interview that I did with SB using his book Demathia Rising as the focus for the questions. I hope you enjoy what comes from his mind and a bit of an insight into his inspiration and writing style.

Me Half FaceQuestion 1:

What inspired you to write Demathia Rising? I’m always looking for fresh story ideas or new angles to old stories to explore. Surprisingly, I get many of my ideas from the History channel. I was watching Mysteries at the Museum and they were talking about this stone tablet with Scandinavian rune markings on it. I began thinking about that and Norse mythology…it lead me to a creature by the name of Hel. She was the protector of the underworld. The story started to form from that and then exploded into Demathia Rising. 

Question 2:

Is there any significance to the name/names of your main characters? Well, yes and no, I wanted the main characters of the Rune family to have a Scandinavian heritage which, in my opinion, meant a strong name. I picked Mason for that. Felicia is my wife’s favorite name so I used that as an acknowledgment to the support my wife has given me. I really try to select names that fit the personality of the character which can be difficult when you first start a story.

Question 3:

During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your own memories? Oh yes, the cottage scenes and the moments at the water was inspired by the memories I’ve made at the family cottage we have on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. My grandpa had a cast iron bell that he would ring whenever it was time to make a special beverage to break the heat of the day. Of course, as a child, that meant it was time for me to have a Root Beer.

Question 4:

What were some of your favorite books growing up? Believe it or not but I wasn’t a big reader while young. Throughout my teenage years comic books were the main source of my reading. Yep, I still have a collection of them now. Of course, in high school we read a great deal more than what they do now a days but my desire to read was set aflame after seeing the Fellowship of the Ring. I simply could not read enough fantasy novels. Terry Brooks, Raymond Feist, Robert Jordan (RIP), and Tolkien top my list of authors.

Question 5:

Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say? Oh yes, I hear from fans…first off, I am always amazed when I think that my novels have fans…Some of them I hear from often. They are part of the Knight Stalkers which is becoming my street team. Other fans will leave messages on my Fan Page about a particular novel and how much they enjoyed it even though it scared them. I’ve received a few emails from readers…one in particular stands out, the reader stated that she had to sleep with the lights on after reading Born of Blood.

Question 6:

What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book? Accomplishment! It was the thought – I did it, I’m a published author. To hold a finished product in your hand that you’ve worked on for more than a year is exhilarating and, for me, inspiration to write more. 

Question 7:

Do you continue to write? Absolutely! I have three novels out now (Born of Blood, Drago’s Revenge, and Demathia Rising) and one short story (Game of Straws). I have hopes to release a second short story in July titled, The Passage and I am working on my fourth novel titled, Christian which is book three of the Blood Chronicles. At the same time I generate more story ideas.

Question 8:

What is the message you want people to take away from the book? First, I want them to be entertained and taken on a journey away from the stresses of reality. In Demathia Rising, I would like them to see that hope is always there and real love knows no limits. You can also see, from Mason, that even confused and distraught you can still do the right thing.

Question 9:

If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be? Well, I can see a bright future of happiness and family but with a hint of caution and an eye for certain details or signs. They will be living by the water and trying to live a normal life.
Question 10:
Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you?  It reads – “To all my friends, fans, readers, and family – thank you for your support.” These groups, these individuals are one of the reasons why I write. It is their support that bolsters me during the tough times of writing a novel.

The + 1 Question:

If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why? I would go to Europe. Think about it, you could tour multiple countries by car and site see at the same time. It would be an awesome tour. I would finish at the world book fair in London.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 19, 2013 in Interview

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
