RSS

Ten Questions + 1 featuring author Doug Lamoreux

12 Jun
Below is the interview from author Doug Lamoreux who is the writer of The Melting Dead, his newest book.  He has also written the book Dracula’s Demeter.  The man is also an actor the photo that he sent for this post appears to be from one of the movies he acted in. The film by Peter O’Keefe, titled Infidel. I do hope you enjoy his answers to the questions as they are just below.
DougLQuestion 1: What inspired you to write The Melting Dead?

My love of horror films and my need for a laugh coming off of writing Dracula’s Demeter.  That was a wonderful experience with a book I’m deeply proud of, but it is a studiously researched literary work and following that I needed to do something that made me laugh and scream at my keyboard.  And with zombies being all the rage, right then, I thought I’d try my take.  The Melting Dead is the result.

Question 2: Is there any significance to the name/names of your main characters?

Yes. Usually and this time certainly.  Some of the characters here are named after characters in horror films, some after friends, some after not-friends.  For fun, The Melting Dead is filled with references to, allusions to, titles of, quotes from over 600 horror, sci-fi, and fantasy films within the prose.  Some are out in the open, some pretty well hidden.  Some are in the names, but only a few.  Aside from being a fun read for everyone, it’s a nifty word search for horror geeks.

Question 3: During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your own memories?

Always. But I’m never sure how or if that translates to the story.

Question 4: What were some of your favorite books growing up?

I was a film buff, devoted to Famous Monsters and other horror magazines and comic books.  I didn’t read many books until much later in life.  A sad fact with our education system; they don’t encourage reading, they’re more interested in regurgitation.  I did read the horror classics, of course, and 1984, Lord of the Flies,  Brave New World, Animal Farm, and others, but they were few and far between.  I am a voracious reader now, usually two novels at a time.  In the last three years, I’ve read all the books I should have read as a boy: Treasure Island, Kidnapped, Captain’s Courageous, The Three Musketeers, Robinson Crusoe, Heart of Darkness, and nearly everything in the Rex Stout, Agatha Christie, and Arthur Conan Doyle canons.  You MUST read to write and when I’m not writing, I read.

Question 5: Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say?

The Melting Dead is so new it hasn’t any fans yet. (And I appreciate, Shawn, you giving it a look. Thank you.)  I have heard from fans of my other works and, I’m delighted to say, people have been wonderfully complimentary and gracious.  One of the greatest things an author can hope to hear is some version of, I’m looking forward to your next book, and I’ve been fortunate to have heard it a few times.  A nice feeling.  I will tell you, as a horror film historian and fanatical fan, nothing could best being told that Dracula’s Demeter was a worthy addition to the Dracula mythology.  I’ve heard that from Fangoria, Famous Monsters of Filmland (the magazine I grew up on), and from Professor Elizabeth Miller, the world’s foremost authority on Bram Stoker’s Dracula and President of the Transylvanian Society of Dracula.  What more could a horror fan hope for?  I didn’t intend to toot my own horn but, to that, TOOT!

Question 6: What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book?

My brother, wildlife photographer and writer Daniel D. Lamoreux, shot the cover for The Melting Dead and it turned out beautifully. The colors are brilliant, yet eerie.  I was delighted, there was my melting zombie island.  Now, go back to Apparition Lake, my first novel (co-written with Dan) or The Devil’s Bed, my first solo novel, then you get jumping up and down.  But you can’t jump up and down after all of them, my knees aren’t what they once were.

Question 7: Do you continue to write?

Absolutely, until I’m forcibly stopped.  Just finishing a murder noir novel, An Agent of Wrath, the first ‘Nod Blake Paranormal Mystery’ of what I hope becomes a series, set in 1979 Chicago with a dinosaur of a private detective who acts as if it’s 1949.  Then it’s back to straight horror with something I can only tease by not teasing it yet.

Question 8: What is the message you are want people to take away from the book?

There are a few messages in there, I’m sure, but I’m not trying to build a better world through melting monsters.  I’m trying to entertain.  If folks read my books, then put them down feeling they’ve been entertained by the experience, it’s all good.

Question 9: If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be?

It would be… a sequel.

Question 10: Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you?

This answer brings us back to question one.  The Melting Dead is dedicated to “The writers of all the filmic horrors from Georges Méliès to the present.” which is exactly what I meant when I said I loved horror films, the good, the bad, and the so bad they’re ugly.  This book is my Thank You to the folks that enriched my childhood with films going bump in the night.

The + 1 Question: If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why?

The United Kingdom.  Ireland, Scotland and England.  Ancient histories, gloomy moors. I’d love to sit in the cemetery overlooking Whitby harbor, or see Stonehenge, or visit Dartmoor, or speak to the ghosts in the Tower of London.  I wouldn’t sell many books but I’d have a grand time!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2013 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
