RSS

Ten Questions + 1 featuring author Mariana Llanos

27 May

marianaI recently reviewed Author Mariana Llanos’ book Tristan Wolf and while doing a follow up email she gave me a great idea.  See, after each review goes live I make sure to email the individual who sent me the book to let them know it is now out there to read.    She asked if I do author interviews she’d be interested. So, the idea struck me why not, and here is the first of what I hope will lead to other interviews.

Question 1:

What inspired you to write Tristan Wolf?

ML: I wanted to write a story for my two boys, something we could read together at night. Then the phrase “Tristan was a loner” got stuck on my head and I started elaborating. So I guess I can say that my boys inspired me and Tristan took over.

Question 2:

Is there any significance to the name Tristan?

ML: Not really. I just like it a lot. It sounds poetical and has personality. I thought it was perfect for my hero.

 Question 3:

During the writing process did you find yourself thinking about any of your own special childhood memories?

ML: I can relate to the daydreaming side of the story as I used to do it all the time. I still do it…I can play all kind of scenarios in my head and cry and laugh and feel very emotional. Then I usually say “shoot! I should’ve written that!”  When I was young,  I lived in a big house with an even bigger backyard that was a paradise to explore. I used to pretend that I was ‘Smurfette’ and played all sort of adventures. Also my love for wolves dates back from when I was kid and was fascinated by them.

 Question 4:

What were some of your favorite books growing up?

ML: I started reading very young…I loved The Little Prince, Alice in Wonderland, The Little Match Girl, Peter Pan, Rosemary Wells books…I didn’t have a lot of children’s books though so I had to read what my parents had handy. That’s how I read Shakespeare’s Hamlet at ten and fell in love with it.

 Question 5:

Do you hear from fans of the book, and if you do what do they say?

ML: So far I’ve had very good comments. They mostly like the twist! I can’t say much because I’d spoil it.  They like the fact that there are wolves in the book and they also love the illustrations made by my very good friend Rocio Perez del Solar. Parents usually mention that they get engaged in the story and it’s not only a children’s book but a short story a grown-up can enjoy as well. I’m very pleased with the input I am getting from my readers through my Facebook fan page and Amazon reviews. Everybody is welcomed to like my page: www.facebook.com/tristanwolfofficial

 Question 6:

What was the feeling like when you saw the very first printed version of your book?

ML: Of course I got teary-eyed. It was finally in my hands! And my named looked so good on the cover. I realized (again) that writing is what I am meant to do. The book really looked better that what I had expected. I just had so many doubts, but they were dissipated when I saw it.

Question 7:

Do you continue to write?

ML: I’m trying! I have a 20 month old baby that takes most of my time. I have started working on Tristan’s next adventure. I want him to come back, I miss him.

Question 8:

What is the message you are want people to take away from the book?

ML:  I want grown-ups to remember when they were kids and used to imagine and daydream, I really want them to relate to this story. And for kids, I just want them to know that it is OK to be a kid, that they don’t have to grow out of “it” so soon. That their imagination can take them places they have never been and can be fun and exciting too!

 Question 9:

If you could envision a future for your main character, what would it be?

ML: I could see Tristan in many other adventures, wherever he wants to go! I can see him being a kid for a long time.

Question 10:

Who are those in the dedication of the book, and their importance to you?

FamilyML: They are my family. My husband Aaron who supports me with his eyes shut. Fabio, my oldest child who has helped me proof my book and even correct my grammar and spelling. He is only 9! Andre is my little funny boy and his smile can light up a room. And Alana is my baby girl who steals my heart every time she hugs me with those tiny hands. I hope they feel proud of their mom, as everything I do, literally, is for them.

 

 

The + 1 Question:

If you had any one place in the world you could travel to for a book tour, where would that place be, and why?

ML: I am from Peru…I think I’d go there to share my joy with friends and family. And after the book tour is finished I’d go to one our beautiful beaches and sit on the sand with the breeze on my face and start dreaming of my next project.

Mariana Llanos

Tristan Cover

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 27, 2013 in Interview

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
