RSS

My Life with Multiple Sclerosis

26 Nov

I was diagnosed with MS a few years ago and have been living relatively well since being diagnosed.  People always ask me what is MS and how how sad they fell for me, or that “I’m Sorry” comment.

The fact is people need to stop and think when they say things like that and I realize it’s a gut reaction but it’s not your fault.  You don’t need to be sorry it’s a part of life and well it happened to me.

The fact is I think I took the news better then many in my family and friends.  I took the news researched the disease and said, “Oh well, time to move along.”  I mean I wasn’t one of those people that was swearing, cursing god, or diving into deep depression.

People can live a normal life with MS depending on it’s severity.  I personally do not have the disease in a bad form.  I get tired, my muscles get soar and stiff on weather extremes, and at time I do get a bit moody.  I can still move around, walk, and do things I enjoy on my own power.  I may loose my balance at times but I haven’t fallen.

I don’t want people feeling bad for me, but instead just talk to me as a person.  The disease is here, I got it, I am on medications (pricey ones), but the fact is I’m still Shawn.  I have my odd sense of humor although it can be a sarcastic, a bit odd, and sometimes my mind twists a phrase to be a bit “naughty.”

I’ve always been a private person and I keep things inside as who wants to see a fat man cry? Who wants to see a man break down and scream at the world?  Well if you are the type don’t look here.  I do keep to myself but I’ve always been that individual the outsider so no big deal.

I feel better when I can actually be there and listen to someones problems and help them out. I’m the type of person who tries to understand the situation but do not judge as I know there is two sides to each story.

So, this disease won’t get me but instead I’m going to live with it and continue being me.  I go day by day and moment by moment.  I have my ups and downs and like everyone have my good and bad days.  So, to me life hasn’t changed much since getting MS.  I just take some things a bit slower and pace myself, but overall I’m still me.

Thanks for asking. 😉

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2011 in Multiple Sclerosis, Personal

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “My Life with Multiple Sclerosis

  1. foxfires71

    November 30, 2011 at 8:00 AM

    Great attitude! I can relate in that, my friends and family took it much harder than I did. It is a life changing event to learn the diagnosis but I think that it is not a “person changing event”. You are an inspiration!

     
    • knightmist

      November 30, 2011 at 10:24 PM

      Thank you so much for the comment it is greatly appreciated. I find beside my positive attitude I at least try and keep my mind busy through other reading or writing. That is key reason I have shared some of my short stories in the blog. Again thank you so much.

       

Leave a Reply

 
